Updates

Throughout the Review, we will provide updates on our progress.

June 2, 2022

Update 5 (June 2022) – A roadmap for meaningful reform

In the last six months, the Cultural Review of the Adult Custodial Corrections System has heard from almost 1,600 people with experience and expertise related to the corrections system. With site visits complete, we are now finalising our analysis, developing our findings and preparing our recommendations to ensure the Review delivers a roadmap for meaningful reform. Here is the latest update.

Read more

April 4, 2022

Update 4 (April 2022) – Developing our findings and recommendations

This week, we reach an important milestone in the Cultural Review of the Adult Custodial Corrections System – our final site visit and the formal conclusion of our engagement phase. We’ll be shifting our focus to analysing the diverse submissions, interview transcripts and expert contributions that have played such an important role in illuminating issues and opportunities for change within Victoria’s corrections system. Here is the latest update on the Review.

Read more

March 8, 2022

Update 3 (March 2022) – Final week to share your experiences

Since November, more than 1,000 people who live and work in the custodial system have shared their insights with the Cultural Review of the Adult Custodial Corrections System, highlighting what’s working in the system and opportunities for change. As we approach the end of the engagement phase, here is the latest update on the Review.

Read more

December 2, 2021

Update 2 (December 2021) – There is still time to share your experience with the Corrections Cultural Review

A safer, fairer, more modern and more capable corrections system – that’s the vision at the heart of the Cultural Review of the Adult Custodial Corrections System. Since launching the formal engagement phase of the Review last month, we’ve been in conversation with custodial staff from across the system, with people in custody, and a wide range of stakeholders and advocates, all sharing their experiences to help us better understand the culture within Victoria’s prisons and correctional centres. Here is the latest update.

Read more

November 10, 2021

Media release: Corrections Cultural Review wants to hear from you about Victoria’s prisons and correctional centres

Now underway, the independent Cultural Review of the Adult Custodial Corrections System is focused on creating a safer, fairer and more capable corrections system – and custodial staff, people with lived experience of custody, and stakeholders are invited to share their experiences.

Read more

October 14, 2021

Update 1 (October 2021) – Supporting a culture of safety and respect

Today, we are pleased to launch our website for the Cultural Review of the Adult Custodial Corrections System. Announced by the Victorian Government in June, this independent Review is a critical opportunity to examine the culture, experiences, systems and processes within Victoria’s prisons and correctional centres.

Read more